Year of the Book honoured with book landscape on postage stamps

The Hague, 2 September 2016 – PostNL has issued a stamp sheetlet to mark the Dutch Year of the Book 2016. Ten books from the National Library (KB) are depicted on this sheetlet. During the opening of the Book Parade in the Tolhuistuin in Amsterdam today, Eppo van Nispen tot Sevenaer, Chairman of ‘Stichting 2016 jaar van het Boek’, received the first stamps.

The ten books shown on the stamps were selected in collaboration with the KB, for diversity of both genre and period, and include journals, children’s books, textbooks, picture books and literature. Well-known titles on the stamps include Turks Fruit by Jan Wolkers, Het Achterhuis by Anne Frank, Ethica by Spinoza and Oom Jan Leert zijn Neefje Schaken by Max Euwe.

A bookscape as design